Advice for noobs

Could also be titled Daygame is a Bitch

This post isn’t intended to offer you the latest snazzy Daygame opener.  Its just advice that I hope will help guys stick with daygame.  Someone told me that there’s a 90% drop out rate for guys trying their hand at street approaching, and I’ve definitely met heaps of psyched guys only to have them drop off the radar a week or two later.  I’ve been doing 10-30 approaches a week for the last 6 months or so.  Its been one of the best six months of my life, up there with going on exchange to Sweden.  But at times its been really fucking hard as well*.  There’s two points I want to make which I hope stop some guys from giving up.

1. When you start out, street approaching is hard.  There were so many times when I was walking around getting rejected (or just not even approaching), thinking “Why am I doing this.  I could be at home chilling on the couch.”  Don’t let those thoughts get to you.  Its part of the process.  When I’ve told other guys about this, they’ve all said they felt the same way.  Daygame is a rollercoaster ride.  The lows and highs are extreme.  I remember being over the moon at my first number.  I have no idea how many numbers I’ve now collected, but its still a great feeling every time.  Next time getting rejected gets you down, remember that feeling could be just one more set away.  The youtube videos will have you believe it should all be fun and games, but its totally not, so don’t worry when not every set is a huge success.

2. Get yourself some wings that you get on well with, preferably who are at your level, and go have fun.  More important than any of the girls I’ve closed are the friendships I’ve made.  Getting rejected is a lot easier when you can go and have a laugh over it with your mate 10 seconds later.  On that note, go to all the meet ups you can, or organise your own.  If the newbies night  was anything to go by, then there are plenty of guys out there who are keen to make progress.

The rewards from this stuff are huge, but that doesn’t mean you don’t have to go through a lot of hard work to get there.

*Funnily enough, the two things I’ve tried this year, daygaming and aid climbing, are both up their with some of the hardest shit I’ve ever done.  If anyone reading this knows what aid climbing is, don’t do it!  So many times I’ve thought to myself, Daygame is a bitch! or Aid climbing is a bitch!

By odinsfortress Posted in Game

Leave a Reply

